Jennita.reismee.nl

I am in Uganda!!!!

It is weird to actually be here right now. The last couple of weeks have been weeks of preparing and packing and now I am already here, unbelievable.

My flight went well, no problems occurred and I watched 3 movies

Laughing
. Arriving at Entebbe was, as expected off course, completely different then the airport I departure from, Schiphol. First I had to fill in a health form, to make sure I do not bring Ebola into the country (this is for all the people back home who thought I was nuts for going to Africa right now, they do have precautions here) and then there was just one exit and there was Charli the cabdriver waiting for me to bring me to the Doingoood house. It was almost midnight so unfortunately I couldn’t see a thing on my way there. Luckily one of the other volunteers was waiting for me and helped me get all my stuff into the house. I was only there for about 5 minutes and the electricity went off, hello Africa. So in the dark, with the light of my phone I brushed my teeth, covered myself in ‘deet’ mosquito spray and went to bed. I heard barking dogs, mosquitos, people yelling but I was tired and happy to be in Africa and finally fell asleep.

This morning I had to be ready at 9:30 am for the tour. Together with Marloes, who arrived yesterday afternoon, and Inge the coordinator here we went into town on a boda boda, which was a real adverture. Men, people drive like maniacs here (I already saw this last night when I witnessed a really nasty accident and I saw a man covered in blood and unconscious being carried in the back of a truck, not a nice sight I can tell you). But as I said a real adventure these boda boda’s, apparently it’s the easiest, fastest and cheapest way to travel around here and I really liked it. (see pictures)

Inge showed us the main supermarkets, the bank and while drinking a coffee she explained when we will start at our projects and how and everything. I already start tomorrow and I am really excited, this is why I am here off course, so I can’t wait to start. After our coffee we went back on the boda boda to our house and we went exploring the surroundings and taking our first pictures, which I will put on here as soon as I am finished writing. As I am writing this I am sitting with Marloes and Sanne in a guesthouse, having a drink and free WIFI

Cool
.

Reacties

Reacties

Henny

Goed te horen, dat je er bent.
Ik hoop dat je blijft genieten.
Kus

Anika

Wat fijn om al wat van je te horen en dat het tot dusver goed is!! Succes morgen bij je eerste dag en geniet van je tijd en alle indrukken daar.
Dikke knuffel en kus

Alwin

Succes morgen! Goed te horen dat je goed bent aangekomen.

Jaset

Hey chica gelukkig goeie vlucht gehad. Gelijk al vanalles meegemaakt lees ik al. Benieuwd naar het volgende verhaal. Xxx

Gerda

Goed bezig daar. Schoolbord staat je goed :). Geniet ervan. Groeten aan Tita van Roos.

Henny

Zorg goed voor jezelf . Fijn dat je daar wat kunt betekenen.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Doingoood