Jennita.reismee.nl

My first day at the project.

My first day started at the Agape drop-in center. At the drop-in center they offer kids from the streets a place where they will get a warm meal, are able to wash themselves and where they offer some education. Not only kids who live in the streets are welcome in the drop-in center but also kids from the neighborhood who live under poor conditions and don’t go to school are welcome here. Today they had a crafts lesson and they were making jewelry. I got a really nice pair of earrings

Smile
from one of the kids.

Around 12:30 we left the drop-in center and went to the Agape home. A few of the kids at the Agape home are orphans but most of them are kids from the street. Agape wants kids to leave the streets and eventually go back home again. I will write another blog later, when I have been here a bit longer and have a better idea, about the four stages at Agape and their mission and vision.

I gave my first lesson today together with another volunteer, Sanne. We didn’t prepare anything (because it was my first day and I thought I would only observe today) and decided to play hangman and to do a spelling quiz, it was nice to see that the kids were very eager to learn and some of them were really competitive. After the lesson kids could do whatever they want and a few of them wanted to color and I was amazed by their skills! In the meanwhile I took pictures of every single kid in the home and wrote down their names, so I could practice back home in the hope I will use the right name for every kid at the home tomorrow.

Around 4pm we went back home on the boda boda again. It was a really nice, but also heavy day. I am tired from all the first impressions but motivated to go tomorrow. An outreach is planned for tomorrow morning at the drop-in center and this is supposed to be quite impressive and I will probably see some terrible stuff, so I will go to bed in time after a tiring but satisfying first day in the hope I will be ready for this outreach.

Reacties

Reacties

Fauve

Leuk om te lezen!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Doingoood