Jennita.reismee.nl

The weather in Uganda.

Let me tell you something about the weather in Uganda and how the Ugandans respond to it. I thought the weather here would be great, but apparently the seasons are changing here and the Ugandans don’t really know when it is rainy season anymore. But since I am here there has been a lot of rain. Before I left to go to Uganda I read that it does rain in Uganda but very hard and short. Well up till now this is not the truth. It almost feels like home. It drizzles, then it storms, then it drizzles again and it goes on and on for hours, just like in Holland, except that the temperature is still good, it stays quite warm. But in Holland we don’t know any better then that it rains a lot and life goes on as normal. We hoist ourselves in a rain suit or we get out our umbrellas and proceed with normal life. But here in Uganda life just stops, hardly anybody is doing anything. Normally there are boda boda’s everywhere, as soon as you walk on the street with a helmet in your hand, boda boda drivers come to you right away to bring you wherever you need to be, but not when it rains. A lot of people just don’t work. At least that is what the other volunteers in my house told me when I wanted to go to work. I should just stay home and wait till the rain stopped. So there I was, on Friday morning ready to go to work but apparently I couldn’t. (the outreach fell through because of the weather and will hopefully happen on Monday) So I waited and waited, while reading a book, but got annoyed after a while and when it only drizzled again I decided to go outside to see if the boda boda’s were driving already, there were not as much as normal but a few, so I decided to go to work. At the end of the day the weather was great again. But I as well as my colleague volunteers spoke to a few Ugandans about the weather and they are all saying something else. It is rainy season, it isn’t rainy season, the weather will stay like this for another month (great just as long as I am here), after this weekend it will be a lot better, it stays rainy season up till December….. Well we will see, there is nothing I can do about it anyway, but hope for the best.

Reacties

Reacties

Vrijwilliger Marloes

Leuk stukje! Heb er hardop om moeten lachen en nee... ik lachte je deze keer niet uit;) Morgen in de kerk kunnen we God wellicht vragen voor meer zon!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Doingoood